Almost Pecan Pie

 

Welcome to the very first post on Basically Baked! I have a lot to learn about blogging, and look forward to the adventure!

pecan-squares-0052

My Uncle Bob loved Pecan Pie so occasionally it would appear at either the Thanksgiving or Christmas meal when I was growing up. Unfortunately my family looks forward to other kinds of pie so I rarely make Pecan, and even though I’ve been particularly hungry for it this year it seemed more important to make the comfort food that my college freshman and first year grad student were looking forward to when they were here for Thanksgiving. They’re back at the University and I find myself still craving pecan pie.

Fortunately, a few years ago I made the Pecan Square recipe from the Silver Palate Cookbook by Julee Rosso and Sheila Lukins. I was baking for a holiday gathering of approximately 20 women and this recipe was such a hit. One woman even asked for the leftover Pecan Squares because she knew her husband would really like them.

If you don’t own the Silver Palate Cookbook, the recipe appears here. http://www.wickwoodinn.com/spring07notebook-02/recipes.htm 

The only change I made was to halve the recipe and bake it in a parchment lined 8″x8″ square pan.

I was a little anxious to get them cut and photographed before I ran out of natural light so they’re not as pretty as they might have been had I been more patient, but the corner that I tasted was wonderful, and I do believe they’ll satisfy that craving for Pecan Pie.

2 Responses to “Almost Pecan Pie”

  1. cookandherbooks Says:

    Making these squares as my first recipe from the Silver Palate. Sounds like I picked a winner and the kitchen smells glorious. Found your blog while looking for a link to the recipe. Looks like you have a number of recipes that I will enjoy trying.

  2. Starting with Simple | A Cook and Her Books Says:

    [...] Kate’s first nap and finished the topping during her second nap. I wish that I had read this blog first and lined the pan with parchment paper because that would have made it much easier to get the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

