When the Weather Outside is Frightful….

Cranberry Crunch Cookies

Cranberry Crunch Cookies

We bake!! We’re in the midst of a snowstorm as I type this. What does one do during a snowstorm? Bake, read or quilt, or course! The house smells wonderful right now thanks to this delicious recipe http://oatmealcookie.typepad.com/the_oatmeal_cookie_blog/2008/10/cranberry-crunch-cookies.html from the Oatmeal Cookie Guy. He won a contest with this recipe and it’s easy to understand why. Even though I had to make some substitutions and use ingredients on hand these are clearly winners. They are crunchy and full of flavor from the dried cranberries, orange zest, nuts and vanilla. My substitutions included toasted pecans for the almonds and plain white sugar instead of the Turbinado sugar.
As the wind howls and the snow flies I’m grateful for my warm, wonderful smelling home!

While the wind howls, the snow flies, and the temperature plummets, this little woodpecker waits patiently between gusts for his turn at the feeder.

Waiting for his turn at the feeder.

Waiting for his turn at the feeder.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “When the Weather Outside is Frightful….”

  1. Anna Says:

    Awww. Is that a baby woodpecker? I haven’t seen one of those in ages.

    It was about 75 degrees yesterday but today it’s something like 40.

  2. Sue Says:

    Hi Anna!
    He is smaller than most of his kind so I assume he’s young. They’re one of my favorite variety of woodpecker. Oh what I wouldn’t give for even forty degree weather! I visited friends this afternoon and then stopped by the mall on my way home. It was -4 degrees when I left the mall. Truly awful. :-(

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

