Biscotti di Prato

Biscotti di Prato

Biscotti di Prato

Biscotti are good cookies. I rarely make them, and I’m not sure why. They lack the rich buttery taste of many American style cookies due to their lack of butter, but that isn’t a bad thing. These have some fat in them from the eggs and almonds, but overall they seem much less fatty than most cookies, and are perfect with some hot tea, coffee, or hot chocolate. The American style biscotti I’ve made in the past with butter or oil are a little softer, but these seem more like the “real deal”. I really like the sample I had and I have a hot cup of tea waiting for me so that I can sit down and enjoy one for real.

Much of the inspiration for this blog comes directly from Cookie Madness, so I will refer there often. Anna bakes something nearly every day and shares her knowledge and recipes freely. When I need a little pick me up I can get a no calorie perk just from clicking on her site and reading about what she has baked that day. When Anna made these she said these were the best biscotti. She rarely makes declarations like that, so when she does I pay attention.

The recipe for Biscotti di Prato can be found on Cookie Madness. I made the half batch as she posted it. The only change I made was to use Sucanat instead of the evaporated cane juice sugar that she used. The Sucanat is darker and therefore my biscotti turned out quite dark. The Sucanat may have overpowered the almonds, but it lends a nice full bodied flavor that processed white sugar wouldn’t deliver.

Thank you Anna for another great recipe! Biscotti may this weekend’s obsession.

One Response to “Biscotti di Prato”

  1. Back in the kitchen « Basically Baked Says:

    [...] I had these ingredients and didn’t want to run to the grocery store to get other things. The Biscotti di Prato I blogged about back in January were better than these in my opinion, but I would make these again [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

