Prepping for guests

Red Velvet Cake
Red Velvet Cake

 

Update: The cake is made and frosted, the bread dough is in the fridge waiting for morning, and the soup is waiting to be reheated.

Tomorrow I will be having guests for lunch. That is unless it’s too cold for them to consider leaving their warm, cozy homes to come to mine. This morning when I got up it was 28 degrees below zero. I don’t think the daytime high will get out of the negative numbers, and tomorrow doesn’t look much better, so who could blame anyone if they decide to stay home.
In preparation for my guests I’m making Red Velvet Cake. I haven’t made Red Velvet Cake in 25 years. At least not that I remember. The batter was a bit scary because it was so RED! I hope we don’t end up with neon red tongues, haha! The cakes are cooling now, and I’ll frost them later and post a picture. Until then here is a link to the recipe.
The other item I’ve mixed up is a half batch of the bread dough from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day. This is my first recipe from the book by Jeff Hertzberg and Zoë François. I know I should have started with the Boulé but I decided to go for the Pain d’ Epi. I want to bake it on a stone, and the only stone I own is a round pizza stone which gives me less surface area to bake on than if I had a rectangular stone. My plan is to make the Pain d’ Epi circular thereby making the most of my circular pizza stone, and only having to bake one batch to serve my guests. I’m mixing up the dry ingredients for my cornbread recipe just in case the Pain d’ Epi is a disaster and I need to do something different at the last minute. Check out this link to see what I’m aiming for with the Pain d’ Epi. I may shape it like a circular stalk of wheat, or I might make the Holiday Wreath version. I’ll be aiming for circular with lots of surface area for good crust, so wish me luck.
The other item I’m working on today is Wild Rice Soup with Smoked Turkey. This is a wonderful soup that will hit the spot no matter how cold it is tomorrow. I’ll make it up to the point where the cream is to be added. Tomorrow when I’m ready I can reheat it, add the cream and serve.
Back to cooking and cleaning!
One Response to “Prepping for guests”

  1. basicallybaked Says:

    I apologize to those of you who were kind enough to leave messages only to have them disappear. I’m having a few administrative issues, and ended up deleting the post as it first appeared. There are still some wrinkles but I’m leaving it for like this for the time being.
    Thanks Olivia and Katrina for the comments you left.
    Sue

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

