Pain d’ Epi and Red Velvet Cake

Pain d' Epe

Pain d’ Epi

The guests are gone and the food was a success!

Yesterday I wrote about my preparation for lunch guests today. I made Wild Rice Soup, Pain d’ Epi, and Red Velvet Cake. The food was a hit. I think everyone was a little surprised that I had made the bread. It was pretty enough that they assumed it was store bought. I think at least half the people here will be going out to purchase their own copy of Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day. They were certainly smitten with the bread and when I told them there wasn’t any kneading involved they were hooked. To find out more about Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day, click here.

_dsc00241313

The Red Velvet Cake was a hit too. When asked what flavor Red Velvet is, I was hard pressed to answer. With just a hint of chocolate, the buttermilk and vanilla it’s hard to put your finger on the flavor, so I explained that Red Velvet is it’s own unique flavor. I won’t wait another 25+ years to make this recipe. You will find the recipe here.

The remains of the Red Velvet Cake
The remains of the Red Velvet Cake

See how red it is?

See how red it is? Both photos are unedited, but are taken with different lighting. The second photo was taken with the White balance preset option and a digital gray card.

4 Responses to “Pain d’ Epi and Red Velvet Cake”

  1. Katrina Says:

    That bread AND cake look awesome! Can I come to your place for lunch? ;) Wait, I’ve been to MN in Jan. before and–never mind. Can I come during the summer? So our -10 (bone chilling!) because of wind chill here in Kansas is nothing like what you’ve got going?

  2. Sue Says:

    Thanks Katrina! You’ll definitely want to delay your lunch date until nicer weather rolls around.
    The cake is much redder than it looks in the photo. Maybe I’ll retake photos of the cake tomorrow. It’s been a long day.

  3. danamccauley Says:

    You know, I’ve never made a Red Velvet Cake. I always wanted to make one and, now I think I better move it to the top of my list!

  4. basicallybaked Says:

    Hi Dana!
    This is a good recipe. If you make it, I hope you like it.
    Sue

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

