Homemade bread

King Arthur White Sandwich Bread and Pain d' Epi

King Arthur White Sandwich Bread and Pain d' Epi

We’ve owned a Hitachi breadmaker for the better part of twenty years. In the eighties bread machines were “the” hot kitchen appliance. Over the course of the past twenty years we have purchased very few loaves of store bought bread, so you can imagine how sad we are that our breadmaker is at least temporarily disabled. We’re actually on our second bread machine and fortunately my husband saved the first one. He will try to get the part he needs to fix the current machine with one from the old machine.

In the meantime to fulfill my son’s request with a loaf of bread to take back with him, I made this recipe from the King Arthur site. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer with the dough hook, and it was quite simple. My loaf pans are not the size called for in the recipe. I had my choice of too small or too big. I chose too big, and I’m very glad I did. This bread rose beautifully and baked beautifully.

Pain d' Epi and King Arthur Sandwich Bread

Pain d' Epi and King Arthur Sandwich Bread

For dinner last evening I baked up the rest of the Pain d’ Epi from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day. This time we ate some of it warm from the oven and I can’t tell you how much we enjoyed it. I made straight stalks this time and unfortunately we ate the prettier one, but you get the idea from the picture. While we love the No Knead Bread, and The Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day, we won’t be giving up bread machine bread. We have recipes we that we’ve come to rely on, and it can’t be beat for great tasting bread with a minimum of mess and time. You don’t get that artisan crust, but we don’t need that on a day to day basis.

4 Responses to “Homemade bread”

  1. gine Says:

    Hi, I just discovered your blog :-). This bread looks delicious. Like the pictures on your blog :-)! XOXO

  2. basicallybaked Says:

    Thanks Gine!
    Sue

  3. Katrina Says:

    Awesome looking bread! I made another loaf of the no-knead, with whole wheat (some) and 10 grain. Love that bread! I think I need to get this book you keep baking from.

  4. basicallybaked Says:

    Hi Katrina!
    The Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day book is a good book. I’m really glad to have it in my library. There are some things I’m really interested in making from there, but I think I’ll wait until the next time our kids our home. OTOH, one of the great things about their recipes is that you can make up only the amount you want and leave the rest in the fridge for another day.
    The regular sandwich bread pictured above is from the King Arthur site. It’s very easy. It’s hard to go wrong with anything from the folks at King Arthur Flour.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

