Send off Sweets

Chocolate Caramel Bars

Chocolate Caramel Bars

We sent these bars off with our son yesterday, had enough to pack some up for his sister, and kept just a few to have here at home. These are of course another kid favorite. With a little salt from the crackers and a lot of sweet from the caramel center and chocolate tops, they have a lot to offer kids of any age.

These are known by many names. We call them Chocolate Caramel Bars, but some people call them Twix Bars. I’m sure they go by other names as well. We prefer them chilled.

This is one of those recipes that went around like wildfire during the early 90’s, so I have no idea who gets the credit for it. Enjoy!

Chocolate Caramel Bars

1 box rectangular crackers (such as Keebler Club crackers)

1/2 c. butter

1/3 c. milk

1/2 c. sugar

3/4 c. firmly packed brown sugar

1 c. graham cracker crumbs

2/3 c. creamy peanut butter

1 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips

Line a 9″x13″ pan with rectangular crackers edge to edge. Set aside

In a medium saucepan combine butter, milk, white sugar, brown sugar and graham crackers. Bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring constantly, and boil for 5 minutes. Pour this mixture over the crackers in the pan. Place another layer of crackers edge to edge over the caramel layer.

In a double boiler melt together the peanut butter and the chocolate chips.  Spread this mixture over the top layer of crackers. Chill until firm and then cut into bars.

Tags: , ,

11 Responses to “Send off Sweets”

  1. Katrina Says:

    I don’t really eat candy bars, but Twix just might be my favorite. I remember printing this recipe off years ago and wanting to make them, but never have. Yum-my!

  2. basicallybaked Says:

    That’s interesting because while I rarely eat them, I do love candy bars, but am not such a big fan of Twix, LOL! We like these bars though. :-)
    I saw a variation somewhere on the net where they used some butterscotch chips in with the chocolate. I thought that sounded good, but maybe it would be too sweet?
    I’d really like to find the right kind of pretzles to make a Take 5 knockoff. I tried a few months ago, but the pretzles that I used weren’t right for the job. I’ll have to try again.

  3. Abbie Says:

    These look yummy! I’m printing it off right now to add to my “To Try” stash :) Thanks!

  4. clumbsycookie Says:

    That picture is just cruel! I want that piece!!!!!!

  5. Sue Says:

    Hi!
    If I remember correctly, you live someplace warmer than I do in central Minnesota. How about if I hand deliver some to you? LOL! A girl can wish!

  6. Hallie Says:

    Wow those look so good. I will have to try this recipe!

  7. bakingbarista Says:

    Now this is my kinda dessert! Excellent! Basicallybaked, would you let me know if you get a good Take 5 knockoff? I’ve been wanting to try one as well, but always chicken out and try something else. Thanks!

  8. basicallybaked Says:

    bakingbarista – Thank you!
    I really should get back on the quest for a Take 5 knock off. I don’t eat many candy bars, but on a rare occasion I’ll treat myself to an Almond Joy or a Take 5 bar.

  9. Anna Says:

    This reminds me of the clone of a Kit Kat bar.

  10. Olivia Says:

    This looks great. How would it turn out if Saltines were used instead of Keebler crackers? Just a thought.

  11. basicallybaked Says:

    Hi Olivia!
    I’ve never tried these with Saltines. I think they’d be fine, just a little different. If you give it a try let us know how they turn out! Sue

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

