I’m still here!

You may be wondering where I’ve been since my last entry. I wish I could say I’ve been to the Carribean, but the answer isn’t nearly that interesting. I’ve been right here in snowy, cold Minnesota.
After the kids went back to college the baking came to nearly a stand still. That’s not to say that I haven’t baked anything. The bread machine is still broken, and I’m not sure we’re going to replace or fix it. The Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day is very easy and satisfying, and when I want regular bread it’s easy to knead in my Kitchen Aid mixer.
I made the Best Ever Brownies from King Arthur Flour. The recipe appears on the back of their all purpose flour. The recipe goes by several names and one of the baker’s at King Arthur Flour recently blogged about the recipe but called it a different name. If you haven’t made them be sure to check them out at the KA Baker’s Banter blog. Right now they’re my favorite brownie, but can you believe that we can no longer get dutch processed cocoa in this town? I find this to be outrageous. I went to three major grocery stores yesterday in search of replacement cocoa and no one had any! This is a town of 60,000 people plus numerous little towns all around us. Doesn’t anyone besides me use this!?
I made some great waffles last weekend, but thought it more important to get them to the table hot than to make people wait while I photographed them for a blog post, but some day I will defiitely blog about them!
I helped a good friend get to the bottom of her flat, disappointing, chocolate chip cookies. I think her problem was somewhere between her new oven and new cookie sheets. It was fun baking some cookies with her.
A couple of big news items. We had new countertops installed of Tuesday of this week. They’re gorgeous and when the painting and other work are done I’ll take some photos and share the results of this kitchen makeover.
The really big news is that I’m going to be on TV! I will be demonstrating a technique using Shiva Paintstiks on Quilting Arts TV! I’ve been really focused on prepping for my segment which will be filmed February 27!
I’ll try not to be so absent, but needless to say I’ve been a bit busy!

6 Responses to “I’m still here!”

  1. Anna Says:

    Hi Sue!

    Thanks for the update. You’ve had quite a week. Keep us posted on the airdate for the quilt show.

    About the KA brownies, I think that’s my favorite brownie recipe at the moment. It’s inexpensive because it calls for cocoa, yet still rich and delicious.

  2. Sue Says:

    Hi Anna!
    Thanks for stopping by! Yes, it’s been quite the week, and quite the month. It’s all good though. :-)

    I agree with your comments about the KA brownies. I’m still stunned that I’m going to have to start ordering dutch processed cocoa though!

  3. Katrina Says:

    Sue,
    Sounds like quite the month!
    Thanks for the heads up on my 100 Grand Brownies, I did kind of leave out what to do with the 100 Grand Bars on accident, because I’d talked about it in my “chatting” about the recipe. I’ve corrected it. I just put half the batter in the pan, then the bars, then the rest of the batter and baked the brownies.
    Now I’m going to have to try the KA brownie recipe.

  4. Joe Says:

    Do you have a Lunds and Byerly’s near you? I’ve also seen some of the cocoa at SuperTarget.

  5. basicallybaked Says:

    Hi Joe!
    Thanks for stopping by.
    We do have a Byerly’s which is where I’ve been able to get it up until now. When I was last there, the space where it used to be was completely empty and they didn’t have any in the back. Maybe the next time I go I’ll be pleasantly surprised and it will be restocked. If I have to order it I will. The shelf price for Droste cocoa is $10.99 for an 8.8 oz. box. I can do better on line, or stock up when I’m in the cities. We don’t have a super Target but our regular target has some grocery items. I’ll look the next time I’m there. I didn’t even think of Target.
    Sue

  6. Judy Jarvis Says:

    I’m the new kid on the block. Enjoyed what I’ve read. Would love to see the kitchen photos ( not sure posted-havn’t looked). Will be back!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

