Cherry – Red Raspberry Pie

Cherry Red Raspberry Pie

Cherry Red Raspberry Pie

To blog about this pie or not? That’s the question. Obviously I decided to go ahead and share it with you. The filling is very tasty and although the recipe needs some tweaking to make the filling less runny it will be worth the tweaking.

I got this recipe from here . Many of the reviewers mentioned the filling being runny but I decided to make the recipe as posted and then fiddle with it in the future based on my results. I made my own crust, and that was also a mistake on my part. The filling is still hot when the pie is assembled. I used an all butter crust, and the hot filling and an all butter crust made it very difficult to assemble because of course the butter starts to melt as soon as it comes in contact with the hot filling.

Back to the filling. Next time I make this I will definitely cut back on the liquid. I think I will go down to 1/2 cup of juice from the fruit instead of the 1 cup called for in the recipe. I had more filling than would fit in a pie dish, which was fine because it was excellent on top of ice cream!

If you like a sweet/tart pie go ahead and make the recipe. The flavor combination is excellent, but definitely cut back on the liquid in the filling and use a shortening based pie crust for a pretty crust.

2 Responses to “Cherry – Red Raspberry Pie”

  1. Elyse Says:

    I think your pie looks great! Maybe you could add a bit of cornstarch to help with the filling’s consistency? Eitherway, I wouldn’t say not to a piece. Hard to assemble or not, I’d just eat this pie right out of the pan if I had to. It looks delicious!

  2. Sue Says:

    Hi Elyse!
    Thanks for stopping by! The filling has some cornstarch, but I think the ratio of cornstarch to liquid is off a little. It was delicious though and I will definitely make it again and make a few adjustments.
    Sue

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

