I love Chocolate Chip Cookies

Modified Hershey's Special Dark CCC's

Modified Hershey's Special Dark CCC's

This afternoon I found myself with some unexpected extra time and instead of doing chores, or relaxing I decided to make some chocolate chip cookies. Earlier this week I made the Cook’s Illustrated Perfect Chocolate Chip cookies but I gave them to a friend who did a huge favor for me. I’ve been craving chocolate chip cookies ever since then. It was difficult for me to move beyond the Cook’s Illustrated cookie, because I love everything about them, but today I just wanted a quick cookie to satisfy the craving. I was going to make the recipe on the back of the Hershey’s Special Dark Chocolate Chip bag, but when I went to measure out the flour I realized that I didn’t have enough all purpose flour so I made some substitutions which worked out fine. I only baked twelve of the cookies. The rest of the dough is in the refrigerator and I’ll bake more of them tomorrow.

These cookies are very good and I would make them again. They are crisp on the edges, and chewy in the center. They are not at all cakey.

Modified Hershey’s Classic Special Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 c. softened butter

3/4 c. sugar

3/4 c. light brown sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2 eggs

1 c. all purpose flour

1/2 c. cake flour

3/4 c. bread flour

1 t. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

 2 c. Hershey’s Special Dark Chocolate Chips

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Cream together then butter, sugars and vanilla until light and fluffy. Add the eggs and beat well. Add the dry ingredients and mix well. Stir in the chocolate chips.

Drop by teaspoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake for 10 minutes rotating the cookie sheet after 5 minutes. Cool on the cookie sheet for 2 minutes. Remove the cookies and cool on a wire rack.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “I love Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Elyse Says:

    I hear you about that CCC craving. When it hits, it REALLLLY hits. These CCCs look awesome, like they could totally hit the spot and satisfy that CCC craving. It’s dangerous for me to have dough in the fridge. I love dough about as much as I love the actual cookies :)

  2. Sue Says:

    Hi Elyse!
    I like dough, but fortunately not enough to eat it out of the ‘fridge. If I had baked all of the cookies, I wouldn’t be able to leave them alone, so I’m much better off with the unbaked dough. I might bake a few more tomorrow and then freeze the rest of the dough for the next time the CCC craving hits.
    I think I read on your blog about the two cookie toaster oven CCC. That would be such a good solution to tame the craving but not overindulge.
    Have a great weekend!
    Sue

  3. Katrina Says:

    About your title to this post–ME, TOO!!! ;) These look tasty!

    About my bittersweet chocolate issue–I used 60% Ghiradelli for this and it just taste, well, too bitter. Not a big deal, I think that just with Dorie’s recipes, I will stick to more of a semi-sweet from now on and see what I think. Thanks though. I will check ingredient lists on chocolate now!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

