Carl’s Cinnamon Rolls

A few unglazed rolls

A few unglazed rolls

A glazed cinnamon roll

A glazed cinnamon roll

I’ve been making cinnamon rolls with one recipe or another for years. Two years ago I found this recipe on The King Arthur Flour website and I’ve been making this recipe ever since then. They rise without fail, the dough is easy to handle, and they’re so tasty! The only change I make is that I skip the bread dough enhancer. I’ve never used it. I should probably give it a try sometime, but I never do because the rolls are great without it.

I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to mix these. Sometimes I use a regular white sugar and cinnamon filling but today I made them with the light brown sugar filling as called for in the recipe. I also made a simple glaze with powdered sugar, cream, and vanilla from a different cinnamon roll recipe on the KA site. The cream was a luxurious addition, but I had it on hand and it needed to be used up. Usually I make the glaze with powdered sugar, butter, milk and vanilla.

If you check out the recipe on The King Arthur site you’ll see that they use a fancier glaze for the rolls. I’d love to try that sometime but I almost always make these when the kids are around and I think they’d rebel if I messed with tradition and put different flavorings and liqueur in their glaze.

The majority of these rolls were sent out the door piping hot from the oven with my daughter. The glaze went in a ziploc bag. When she gets where she’s going she can clip a corner off the bag and glaze the rolls. I sent along plenty of napkins. It will be interesting to find out if she shares them with her bike racing teammates or if she takes them home and pops the extras in the freezer.

I made the reduced yield recipe which makes 20 good sized rolls.

Here are links to the recipes.

The Dough and Filling
The glaze

Tags: , ,

8 Responses to “Carl’s Cinnamon Rolls”

  1. Elyse Says:

    Mmm, a no-fail cinnamon roll?! I can’t wait to try the recipe out. These cinnamon rolls look picture-perfect. Great job!

  2. Linds Says:

    I love cinnamon rolls but have only made them once. These looks lovely.

    I see you’ve added me to your blogroll. Thank you so much! You are very kind.

  3. basicallybaked Says:

    Hi Linds!
    Yes, I just did that moments ago. I’m not up to speed on Internet etiquette and didn’t ask first, so I’m glad it’s okay.

  4. Katrina Says:

    Gorgeous cinnamon rolls. I have a tried a true recipe that I’ve used for years as well, but there’s so many out there that I should try others.

    The Bobby Flay corn muffins are amazing. You should try them. It doesn’t have to be blue cornmeal, but I wanted it and found it and was really happy about it!

  5. Fabjena Says:

    They are looking SO yummy :)) I have tried something like that, but an idea to put a glaze on them is really good ;)

  6. The daughter Says:

    I definitely did not share any of these with my bike racing teammates. I am cruel, and they were delicious!

  7. elisabeth from KAF Says:

    Thanks for trying our brownie recipe! I am making them tomorrow for my daughter’s lemonade stand! EFB @ KAF

    • basicallybaked Says:

      Hi Elisabeth!
      I’ve been making those brownies for quite awhile now. Like I said, they’ve become the “go to” brownie when I want brownies for more than just my husband and I. They’re always a big hit, and there are never any left. I consider that a good thing! :-)
      Thanks for commenting!
      Sue

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

