Blondies

Blondies 007It seems like I’ve seen one version of Blondies after another lately, and after trying different recipes, one which was a total gooey, icky dud I made this version. As always I learned a few things during my search for a Blondie recipe that I like. I learned that Congo Bars are a variation on Blondies. It seems obvious now, but I hadn’t considered that prior to reading it in Baking Illustrated. Wouldn’t you know that I have a recipe for Congo Bars that people always seem to love, and I could have made those and been done with it? This revelation makes it clear that I haven’t made many Blondies in my life, nor even thought about them much.

The recipe for these Blondies is here, so I won’t retype it. The only change I made was to use 6 oz. of cut up white chocolate in place of the 1/2 c. white chocolate chips.

These tasted best to me once they were completely cool. We really liked these and I will definitely make them again.

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “Blondies”

  1. Katrina Says:

    Those look like a perfect texture and yumminess!

  2. Elyse Says:

    These blondies look absolutely delicious! Seems like you’ve become quite the expert on blondie-making, and boy am I glad to reap the benefits of your knowledge. Your picture has me definitely craving some of these bars. Delish!

  3. Sue Says:

    Hello!
    Katrina – These were a perfect texture. Some that I tried were gooey, and I didn’t care for that.

    Elyse – I can’t say I’m an expert, but I’m glad to have found a recipe I like and can turn to again and again.

  4. Martha Says:

    Your blondies look delicious. I’ve never used a combination of white and semisweet chocolate before. The nice thing about blondies, one you find the basic recipe you like, is that you can change the flavor with your additions. I love them made with chocolate chips, coconut, and macadamia nuts.

  5. Sue Says:

    Thanks for visiting! Your additions sound wonderful!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

