A twist on corn muffins

Savory Corn Muffins

Savory Corn Muffins

These muffins are based on Bobby Flay’s, Mesa Grill, Blue Corn Muffins. I found the original recipe here, but I made a lot of changes based on what I had available.

For starters I traded out the red onions for chives from our garden. The chives are beautiful this year and I’ve been trying to dream up ways to use them. I omitted the red bell peppers because they don’t agree with either of us, and I accidentally omitted the corn. I would like to make them again and I’ll be sure to put the corn in next time, even though they are excellent without it. My local grocery store doesn’t carry blue corn meal so I subbed some course ground yellow corn meal.

Historically I’ve leaned toward sweeter corn breads while my husband has always preferred less sweet corn breads. These are great because they don’t have much sweetness but the savory additions made it so that I didn’t miss the sugar.

The cilantro came up on it’s own this year, and that makes me happy because last year we hardly got any cilantro from the garden. I was a bit timid with the jalapeno and seeded it because I was afraid it would be overpowering but next time I’m using seeds and all because while the jalapeno was there, the cilantro was the dominant flavor despite the amount of garlic and jalapeno in the recipe.

Here is the recipe as I made it, and I’m going to rename it Savory Corn Muffins.

Savory Corn Muffins

3/4 c. coarsely ground yellow corn meal (I used stone ground Hodgson Mill)

1/2 c. all purpose flour

1 1/2 t. baking powder

1/4 t. baking soda

1/4 t. salt

1/2 stick of butter (4 tablespoons)

1/4 c. chopped chives (I was quite generous with this measurement)

1/2 c. milk

2 large eggs

1 jalapeno, finely diced

1 T. finely chopped cilantro

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Spray a six cup muffin tin with non stick cooking spray.

In a small bowl stir together the cornmeal, flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

Melt the butter in a small skillet over medium heat. Add the chives and the garlic and saute until the garlic just starts to turn golden on some of the edges.

In a large bowl whisk together the milk, eggs, butter mixture, honey, jalapeno and cilantro.

Add the dry ingredients to the milk and egg mixture, and mix until just combined.

Divide the batter evenly to make six muffins. Bake for 14-16 minutes.

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “A twist on corn muffins”

  1. Erin in PA Says:

    Hi! Great recipes – thanks for sharing. I wanted to respond to you from the KA website regarding a strawberry pie recipe. The current issue of Cook’s Country magazine has an amazing version that doesn’t use jello. I didn’t want to post that on their site in case there was some conflict… Good luck!

  2. basicallybaked Says:

    Hi Erin!
    Thanks! I’ll check that out. My Mom used to make an awesome fresh strawberry pie that used Jello. It’s one of those things that I know I “shouldn’t” like, but I do, and yet I know there has to be a better way to make it!
    Sue

  3. Cookie Says:

    I love savory corn muffins! I make those a lot with just about any ingredient I have left over in the fridge. I find that bacon and cheese add a great salty flavor and you can cut out adding salt all together. I’ve also tried adding corn kernels and sun-dried tomatoes for a heartier texture.

    • basicallybaked Says:

      Oh my! Bacon and cheese would be excellent additions! Of course they’re excellent additions to almost anything! :-)

  4. Katrina Says:

    I LOVE Bobby’s corn muffins! I found blue corn meal not too long ago and quickly whipped those up after having been to Mesa Grill back in Nov. There’s something about HIS muffins, but following this recipe was pretty close. I thought it could just a tad more heat, too. And that’s saying something coming from a spicy wimp like me! Ooh, now you’re making me want them again! ;)

    • Sue Says:

      Hi Katrina!
      I really liked the texture of these and look forward to trying them again, with less cilantro. It must be really strong when you pluck it directly from the garden!
      I’d love to try HIS muffins at Mesa Grill!
      Sue

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

