Tex Mex Chocolate Cookies

Tex Mex Chocolate Cookies 004Try these cookies! They’re like drinking a fine wine. There is a complex layer of tastes. A first taste, a mouth taste, and a lingering after taste. They might even pair well with a good red wine, but I didn’t have any around to try out that notion.  The recipe comes from Anna at Cookie Madness. I’m a devoted reader of her blog, and I don’t know why I waited so long to try these.

There is a surprise ingredient and it’s fun to let people guess what it is. Out of twelve friends only one came close when she guessed chili powder. The surprise ingredient is chipotle powder so she was very close!

I took these cookies on a retreat and everyone loved them. I also left some at home for my husband and his reaction was sort of humorous. His comment was that he wasn’t sure he liked them but he enjoyed every last one of them while trying to decide. He says I’ll have to make more! Too funny!!

I live in central Minnesota and chipotle powder was not to be found at any of the local grocery stores, so I got mine at Penzey’s in Minneapolis. If you can’t find it where you live you might consider ordering it from Penzey’s.

The recipe can be found here. I didn’t make any changes. When you look at Anna’s photo you’ll notice that she didn’t chop her nuts as finely as I did. Next time I’ll leave mine a little bigger too.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Tex Mex Chocolate Cookies”

  1. Martha Says:

    These cookies look great and since I live in Phoenix where chipotle powder is plentiful, I look forward to trying them soon. I too am a big fan of Anna’s Cookie Madness.

  2. Sue Says:

    When you try them, I’d love to hear what you think of them!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

