Chewy Granola Bars

Chewy Cherry Almond Granola BarsI’ve been wanting to make my own snack bars for a very long time and only recently got around to it. I like the Kashi TLC Chewy Granola bars. My favorites are the Honey Almond Flax, and the Peanut – Peanut Butter, but the Cherry Dark Chocolate are excellent as well. The trouble is that they aren’t inexpensive. I kept thinking I should be able to come up with something similar and less expensive.

These bars are my first attempt. Both my husband and I like these bars better than the Kashi Bars even though they’re substantially different. I haven’t run the numbers but my gut feeling is that they’re not any less expensive. Still they’re an excellent snack, and they store well. I cut these up into bars and then individually wrapped them and stored them in an airtight container in the refrigerator. When I need to take a snack with me I can just pop one in my purse and by them time I need to eat it, the bar has come to room temperature and is perfect for a pick me up. If you’re going to share them with a crowd, or you’re going to eat them more quickly you could skip the wrapping and refrigerating.

This is a variation on the recipe for Big Sur Power Bars from 101 Cookbooks, and the Power Bar recipe on page 47 in Heidi Swanson’s cookbook Super Natural Cooking. In both of those recipes Heidi emphasizes using crisp brown rice cereal. I really like this choice, but despite her wise words I’m tempted to try some of the Kashi cereal next timeĀ  in an effort to increase the amount of protein in the bars. The following recipe is how I made them. Please refer to 101 Cookbooks, or Super Natural Cooking for original recipes by Heidi Swanson.

Chewy Cherry AlmondĀ  Granola Bars

1 T. butter

1 1/4 c. rolled oats

1 1/4 c. almonds, toasted and chopped

1/2 c. ground flax seed

1 1/2 c. unsweetened brown rice cereal

1 c. dried cherries, chopped

2/3 c. unsweetened coconut

1 c. brown rice syrup

1/4. c. sucanat

1 t. pure vanilla extract

1/4 t. almond extract

1/2 t. kosher salt

Grease a 9×13 inch pan with the 1 T. butter.

In a large bowl mix together the oats, nuts, cereal, flax seed, coconut, and cherries. Set aside.

In a small saucepan combine the rice syrup, sucanat, vanilla and almond extracts. Cook over medium heat stirring constantly. The mixture will come to a boil and thicken slightly. This takes about 4 minutes.

Pour this mixture over the cereal and nut mixture and combine until the syrup is evenly distributed.

Spread into the buttered pan and cool completely. After the bars have cooled completely turn them out onto a large cutting board and cut into bars. Wrap each bar individually in waxed paper and store either at room temperature or in the refrigerator depending on how fast you and yours will be eating them.

Tags: , , ,

7 Responses to “Chewy Granola Bars”

  1. Katrina Says:

    I love homemade granola bars and no bake to boot! I wish I could get my son to eat the ones I make, instead we should practically own Sunbelt granola company! Those are the only ones he’ll eat!

  2. Preety Says:

    Love the bar and recipe also..but i don’t have all the ingredients otherwise i would have gave this a try today itself..

    Your cookie recipe was a real success..thanks for stopping by and leaving a sweet comment

    • basicallybaked Says:

      Hi!
      The nice thing about these bars is you customize them to your own tastes! I’m hoping to try some peanut-peanut butter combination soon! Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Katrina Says:

    Sue–I’m going to give these a try, but I’m just going to use regular rice krispies and instead of sucanat I’ll use brown sugar. I also don’t have brown rice syrup, but I have some Lyle’s golden syrup and/or agave. I do love that they are no-bake.

  4. Jen Says:

    These are awesome! I used 4 parts honey to 1 part brown rice syrup and subbed the sucanat for brown sugar. Talk about total awesomeness!!! The husband already requested a 2nd batch be made (and they are not totally cooled yet). I am sure the kids will ask for a 3rd batch!

    • Sue Says:

      I’m so glad to know you and family liked these. I’m also happy to read about your successful substitutions. It’s nice to have a granola bar that is tasty and you can feel good about knowing exactly what went into it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

