Snickerdoodles

It’s a funny name, but a good basic cookie that I haven’t made in the past 25 years. Once I started making Mrs. Field’s Cinnamon Sugar Butter Cookies there really wasn’t a need for another cinnamon, sugar cookie in the repertoire.  But, the slight twang from the cream of tartar and the crispiness of a snickerdoodle are unique so I decided to revisit them and I’m not sorry I did.

It took me two attempts to make these cookies so that I was happy with them. My first batch tasted great and had crispy edges but once they were completely cooled the crispy edges disappeared. I baked those on my air bake cookie sheets. In case you’re wondering I bake almost all of my cookies on air bake cookie sheets. While these had good flavor I was disappointed in the texture once completely cooled and might not have made them for another 25 years, except that I got a request for “something tasty”, and since I had all of the ingredients for these I decided to try again.

This time I used my flat cookie sheets and made sure to bake them completely. Success!! This time they are crispy with a nice chew and they retained their crispiness and chewiness even after storage in Tupperware.

Another difference between my first attempt and the second is that I didn’t chill the dough the dough the first time, but I did the second time. The last dozen were chilled for about 36 hours and they were the best of all.

Snickerdoodle Cookies

Snickerdoodles

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper.

Cream together the following:

1/4 cup (48 grams) shortening

1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter (170 grams)

1 1/2 c. (300 grams) sugar

Add the following to the creamed mixture and combine completely:

2 large eggs

Sift together: (you don’t really have to sift this, but do be sure to rid the cream of tartar of any lumps)

2 1/4 c. flour (318 grams)

2 t. cream of tartar

1 t. baking soda

1/2 t. salt

Combine the creamed ingredients and the dry ingredients. Divide the dough equally into three portions, wrap in waxed paper and thoroughly chill the dough.

When the dough is thoroughly chilled divide each third into 12 pieces of dough and form into balls.

Topping:

Stir together 3 Tablespoons sugar and  1 Tablespoon ground cinnamon.

Roll each ball in the cinnamon sugar topping and place on the parchment lined cookie sheet. Bake in the center of the oven for 10 minutes. The cookies should puff up and then deflate while in the oven. Cool the cookies on the cookie sheet for 2-3 minutes and then transfer the cookies to a wire rack to cool completely.

Yield: 36 cookies

Tags: , ,

13 Responses to “Snickerdoodles”

  1. Shawna Says:

    Try this cookie recipe with butter flavored shortening, and divide the sugar amount into: 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white granulated sugar. I have a similar recipe and the brown sugar and butter flavored shortening send them over the top. For quality affordable cinnamon, so far (from what I have tried) I like the cinnamon from CostCo, and the vanilla too. I have vanilla from Mexico, but there is something about it that I don’t like; I just can’t put my finger on it.

    • basicallybaked Says:

      Hi Shawna!
      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I’ve also had some Mexican vanilla and found it to be a little strange. My favorites are McCormick’s, Penzey’s double strength, and Nielsen-Massey.

  2. Katrina Says:

    I’ll have to try these. My husband’s favorite cookie are snickerdoodles. I haven’t really liked my recipe lately like I used to. Great photo.

  3. Terisa Says:

    Made these tonight, and used turbinado sugar with the cinnamon. They didn’t seem to pick up as much cinnamon as when I used white sugar, but they tasted amazing.

  4. Dorothy Miramontes Says:

    Hi there! should the butter and shortening be softened to room temperature or be cold? Or does it not matter? Thank you for sharing this recipe by the way,i prefer a chewy crispy snickerdoodle like you do:)

  5. Dorothy Miramontes Says:

    And also,should i chill the dough for 36 hours like you did or just until it’s hard?

    • Sue Says:

      For the best texture I would chill for 36 hours. If you can’t wait that long you will still get tasty cookies.

      • Dorothy Miramontes Says:

        They came out great! will they retain their crispiness after I store them in a cookie jar or is it better to store them in Tupperware like you did?

      • Sue Says:

        I’m sorry to say I’ve never owned a cookie jar so I don’t know. My instinct is the cookie jar would be fine and perhaps better. If you put some in each let me know if you can tell a difference.
        Your inquiries inspired me to make these again. I sent them all to my in-laws where they once again got rave reviews. I’m so glad you had good success with yours.

  6. Dorothy Miramontes Says:

    I had a bad experience the last time I made snickerdoodles. Instead of spreading they puffed up Into large mounds with a cake like texture, like muffin tops.I was very disappointed.then 3 years later I decided to give it another try, and I wanted to be careful to make sure the snickerdoodles wouldn’t end up like muffin tops again.This time I happened to have some cream of tartar on hand.And by the way,they do retain their crispiness and chewiness after storing in a cookie jar :) The only problem is that I feel so tempted to eat them all!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

