Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

As soon as I tasted these cookies I was pretty sure I had already tried a very similar recipe. Closer inspection revealed that my taste bud memory was accurate.

These are very good peanut cookies. That said I have a few other thoughts about them. I don’t think the chocolate chips added a lot. Yes, you know they’re there but these cookies are all about the peanut butter. The roll in the sugar is sort of pretty and adds a bit of crunch but omitting the milk yields a slightly firmer cookie and a bit more crunch without sacrificing too much to texture.

I would make these again if asked, but left to my own devices I would either make the One Bowl Criss Cross Peanut Butter cookies from Cookie Madness, or my old standby peanut butter cookie recipe that came with my Kitchen Aid mixer years ago.

Today’s recipe came from Smitten Kitchen. Compare them to this recipe from Cookie Madness and you’ll see the similarities.

At stack of cookies

At stack of cookies

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Megan Says:

    I’m always up for a pb cookie comparison – and especially if you add chocolate to the mix.

  2. Katrina Says:

    Well, they certainly look great. I went on a huge pb cookie comparison some time last year. You’ll have to try those 101 Cookbooks ones. They aer different without all the sugary-ness, but I really liked that and the pb stood out more to me.

    • basicallybaked Says:

      I looked at your blog but couldn’t find your PB cookie comparison. Can you post a link to it? Sue

  3. Steph Says:

    I haven’t found a pb cookie recipe i like yet. I think I would like these though because they have the perfect thickness

    • basicallybaked Says:

      If you try them let me know what you think. They’re very good. I was glad to give them away because I couldn’t stop eating them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

