Lemon Bliss Cake

Lemon Bliss Cake

Lemon Bliss Cake

Tomorrow morning bright and early I leave for Houston. I’m looking forward to the trip even though technically it’s work related. While doing laundry and packing I decided I could multi task and use up the lemons in the refrigerator. I turned to the King Arthur Flour website to find a recipe in a hurry and found this recipe for Lemon Bliss Cake. It’s easy and very good. The crumb is very fine and moist and the lemon flavor shines without being too tangy. I had all of the ingredients on hand so it was the perfect recipe to make while doing other things.Lemon Bliss Cake 016

My only deviations from the recipe involved baking time and the glaze. My bundt cake pan is dark and I think the cake baked faster because of that. It was done in 45 minutes. For the glaze I juiced both lemons which gave me about 4 oz. of juice so I added a little more sugar and used all the juice. I used superfine sugar because I thought it might dissolve more completely. There aren’t any crystals, so I guess the superfine sugar did what I had hoped.

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “Lemon Bliss Cake”

  1. Steph Says:

    Your lemon bundt looks really good! CI has a really good recipe too that I love.

  2. Molly Says:

    You’re lemon cake looks fabulous! It’s making me very hungry.
    Molly @ KAF

    • basicallybaked Says:

      Thanks Molly! The cake is very good and travels well. I’m in Houston right now and I packed some up and brought it along. It was a lifesaver yesterday on a longer than scheduled flight.

  3. Mike T. Says:

    Mmmm, love love love lemon cake! Can’t wait to try it.

    I’ll be down in Houston on Monday. :-)

    Mike.

  4. Katrina Says:

    This looks simple and yummy (Sometimes I DO like to deviate from chocolate!) ;)
    Hope you’re having/or had a great time in Houston!

    • Sue Says:

      Hi Katrina!
      Houston was great, but I came home exhausted. The cake is simple and yummy. I wrapped individual slices in wax paper and then stored it in a Ziploc bag so I could take some along. It traveled really well, and it was fun to share. I forget that not everyone bakes, and it’s really easy to impress people with the simple things when they’re homemade.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

