One year anniversary!

Basically Baked turns one year old today! I’ve enjoyed connecting with those of you who take the time to leave a comment and I enjoy visiting the blogs of those of you who author them.

To celebrate the anniversary I made the Chocolate Bon Bon Drops that Mary Jane Robbins recently blogged about on the King Arthur Baker’s Banter Blog. They’re very easy to make, very tasty and have a festive look to them. You’ll find the recipe here.

The only change I made to the cookies is to garnish them with Holiday M&M’s instead of the pretty chocolate pearls from King Arthur Flour. I don’t own a tiny teaspoon cookie scoop so when I was done mixing the dough I divided the dough into two equal portions, flattened each portion into a 4 x 3 inch rectangle and then wrapped each rectangle in it’s own piece of waxed paper and refrigerated it for about an hour. Then I cut each rectangle into twelve pieces and formed the pieces into balls and baked according to the directions.

The cookies are sort of a chocolate shortbread. I made my glaze with half and half instead of cream and I would have to agree with Mary Jane that the half and half yielded a thinner glaze than might have been desirable. I also thought the glaze was very good but it was very sweet. The cookies are good enough that I don’t think they need the glaze except for the decorative effect. I think some decorative stencils and powdered sugar might yield a pretty cookie and keep the focus on the cookie. By the way… those flecks you see in the glaze are from vanilla bean paste. Good stuff!!

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “One year anniversary!”

  1. Megan Says:

    Hey – did you know it’s snowing? Ha ha ha ha ha! It looks so cool and I see you also changed your header – very nice indeed.

    Happy One Year Anniversary!

  2. Sue Says:

    Thanks Megan!

  3. Judy Says:

    These look very interesting, I may try them. Love your little snowflakes falling.

  4. Katrina Says:

    Happy 1 Year! (a little late, but I guess better late than never. )
    Sheesh, I get my reader all cleared out and before I know it it’s FULL again!
    Great looking, festive cookies.

  5. Linds Says:

    Congratulations on your 1 year anniversary! I’ve been meaning to stop by with a comment. Wishing you the very best for the holidays and the year ahead.

    Linds

  6. basicallybaked Says:

    Thanks for the kind wishes!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

