Cinnamon Goodness

Cinnamon Egg Nog SconesWhen I saw the recipe for Cinnamon Eggnog Scones on the Baker’s Banter blog I knew I would have to make them. The cinnamon chips and Cinnamon-Flav-R Bites were in my cupboard patiently waiting their turn to shine. They definitely shine in these scones. I only baked off a few of the scones and the remainder are nestled away in the freezer. Maybe I’ll bake them Christmas morning. They would be a wonderful way to start the day.

If you make these and use the Cinnamon-Flav-R Bites be careful not to soak them too long. Mine all but dissolved. I think I was doing too many things at once and left them soaking longer than I thought I did. It didn’t matter. The flavor was still wonderful. If you look at the photos at the Baker’s Banter Blog you’ll notice that theirs are much whiter than mine. That’s because of the melted cinnamon bits.

I might mention that these have a wonderful balance of spices, and don’t seem at all egg like to me. You see I don’t like egg nog in the least. In fact this is the first time I’ve ever purchased it. So, if you’re afraid of the egg nog like I was, don’t be. This is a great place to use it. The scones turn out with a moist but not wet interior and a melt in your mouth crust on the exterior. They are so much better than anything you can purchase at a store or coffee shop. I would make these again, and in fact will probably look for excuses to make them in the future. Just in case you’re wondering, I purchased organic egg nog. The ingredient list seemed a little less frightening to me.

You’ll find the recipe here.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Cinnamon Goodness”

  1. Megan Says:

    I love egg nog, so I think I’d be disappointed if I couldn’t taste it in the scone. But they still look and sound delicious.

  2. Sue Says:

    Well, I think you’d find the spices you love in egg nog without the glug factor. This was a good thing for me.

  3. Katrina Says:

    Ooh, those do sound good!

    Have a wonderful Christmas!

  4. Sour Cream Chocolate Chip Scones « Basically Baked Says:

    [...] will be my go to scone recipe for those times when I can’t make the eggnog scones, which I also [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

