Mexican Wedding Cakes

Mexican Wedding Cakes

It has been years since I’ve made these cookies. They go by a lot of names. Russian Tea Cakes, and Snowballs are two other names that immediately come to mind. I can’t imagine why so many years have passed since I last made these. Maybe it’s because I love them so much that I can’t keep my hand out of the cookie jar!

This year I made them entirely in the food processor. It was super easy! The only drawback is that I really dislike washing the food processor, but the speed with which these came together was a good trade off. You can just as easily make them with a mixer or by hand, but you will need to grate or grind the nuts to a fine powder first.

I recommend rolling the cookies twice in the powdered sugar mixture and then sprinkling them with just a little more of the powdered sugar just before serving. They’re super pretty that way.

Mexican Wedding Cakes

1/2 c. toasted pecan halves
1 c. powdered sugar
pinch of salt
1 c. unsalted butter
1/2 t. vanilla extract
1 3/4 c. unbleached all purpose flour

Topping:
1 1/2 c. powdered sugar
1/8 t. cinnamon

Using the metal blade of the food processor process the toasted nuts with the sugar and salt until the pecans are very finely ground. With the motor running add the butter a little at a time until smooth and creamy. Scrape the bowl and add the vanilla. Pulse in the flour until the dough starts to cling together.
Form the dough into a ball and wrap in plastic. Chill the dough in the refrigeratorfor an hour.
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
Form the dough into 1 inch balls. Bake for 15 – 20 minutes. Cool the cookies on the baking sheets for a couple of minutes and then roll them in the powdered sugar mixture. When you’ve rolled them all once repeat the process. Save the excess powdered sugar mixture, and sprinkle it over the cookies just before serving.

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “Mexican Wedding Cakes”

  1. Cheryl Says:

    I would love to make these right now!

  2. Velva Says:

    These are great cookies. This post was an inspiration. The food processor, I would just throw in the dishwasher, when I was finished.

    Cheers.
    Velva

    • basicallybaked Says:

      Thank you Velva!
      I’m a goofball about the dishwasher. I’m suspicious that the detergent pits some things especially clear plastic, so I always wash it by hand. I suppose the life of the appliances these days is such that I should just put in the dishwasher and not worry about it. Life’s too short too worry about stuff like that isn’t it?
      Thank you for visiting Basically Baked! Happy Holidays!

  3. Katrina Says:

    Those are similar to the ones I posted. But I only processed the flour and pecans. Good idea to do it all. If only the processor would also roll the dough into balls. ;) I LOVE these cookies!
    Hope you had a great Christmas and have a wonderful New Year!

  4. Judy Says:

    I always make these in the food processor — so easy. I like to add a bit of rum in mine — so good.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

