Sour Cream Chocolate Chip Scones

Sour Cream Chocolate Chip Scones

In my last post I mentioned all the great recipes I’ve recently made from Cookie Madness and this is one of my favorites. I have all kinds of ideas swirling around in my head for future variations. These have a great texture. A little crust on the outside, but soft and moist on the inside.

I’m easily entertained, so I grated the very cold butter. This was fast, easy, and fun to do and the grated butter made the scones especially easy to mix without over mixing which can lead to toughness. This is a good technique that can probably be applied to other recipes.

I like to bake my scones in a circle. I place the dough on a piece of parchment paper on top of the baking sheet and pat the circle out. Then I cut the circle into wedges with a bench scraper and pull the wedges apart so there is about a half inch between the wedges. I like the way the scones turn out when I bake them this way.

This will be my go to scone recipe for those times when I can’t make the eggnog scones, which I also love!

For the complete recipe click here.

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “Sour Cream Chocolate Chip Scones”

  1. Katrina Says:

    I have come to love scones in just the last few years, having never even tasted one before that. They are dangerous for me to have around because they kids don’t really eat them and neither will my husband.

  2. Sue Says:

    Hi Katrina!
    I agree! They’re dangerous to have around, but oh so good!
    I haven’t tried it with this recipe, but some other recipes freeze really well. Then you can remove just what you need from the freezer and bake one or two at a time. We have a toaster oven so it’s convenient to bake just one or two.

  3. Ryan Says:

    Oooh, those look delicious! I’ve never had scones before, and I’ve been too nervous to make them haha, but I may have to try soon :D

    • basicallybaked Says:

      Ryan, this would be a good recipe to try. If you grate the butter it makes them especially easy to mix together without the risk of over mixing, and making them tough.

  4. Emily @ Beauties and the Feast Says:

    These look divine! I’ve been looking for a good breakfast item to bring snow shoeing and I think this may be it!

  5. Caroline Says:

    These look so good. I love scones, but I still overwork my dough, I end up with hockey pucks a lot. Maybe I should try again and the desire to have this recipe work out may make my hands ease up a bit!

    • basicallybaked Says:

      Hi Caroline!
      I’m really sold on this grating the butter technique. The dough goes together really easily due to that! If you decide to make them, good luck!! I hope they turn out for you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

