Chocolate Surprise Cookies

Chocolate Surprise Cookies

I’ve wanted to try these cookies for a few years because they look a little like my grandma’s chocolate sundae cookies. There are two things I liked about these. The first is the frosting. It has a nice flow to it when you frost the cookies and it sets so that when you hold the cookie your hands don’t get sticky. The frosting also happens to taste good.

The second thing I like about this recipe is that the cookies are baked until firm and then a marshmallow half is place on the cookie while it’s still warm and then returned to the oven for 2 minutes more. When the cookies are removed from the oven you gently press down on the warm marshmallow to flatten it slightly. This makes the marshmallow cover the cookie a little more making them easier to frost, and you get a better marshmallow to cookie ratio as you eat them.

I added some chopped maraschino cherries to the dough to make them more like the chocolate sundae cookies. The first day I thought I liked these cookies better than the chocolate sundae cookies, but by the second day the texture wasn’t as good as the first day and I decided to stick with the chocolate sundae cookie recipe. I will use this frosting and I like the idea of flattening the warm marshmallows.

The recipe is from Martha Stewart. You can find it here.

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Chocolate Surprise Cookies”

  1. Gloria Lee Says:

    These look good-I like surprises in my cookies!

  2. Sue Says:

    Me too! :-)

  3. Molly Says:

    I first saw these cookies in Martha Stewart’s Cookie Cookbook and have wanted to try the recipe out for awhile now too!!! I’m glad to know they turned out well. I’m inspired to try them for myself now!!

  4. Katrina Says:

    Ooh, these look good!

  5. Katrina Says:

    I knew I’d seen them somewhere. ;)
    Hey, I tried those chocolate marshmallows last winter. They really aren’t that good–kind of strange–they taste rather chemically. But you might think different. I like their medium size–they are bigger than minis but smaller than the large ones.

  6. Sue Says:

    Thanks for the heads up re the chocolate marshmallows. I’ll take your word for it regarding the chemically taste. ;-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

