Hamburger Buns

Homemade Hamburger BunsThere are some things that cannot be explained. Why a woman who wasn’t planning on burgers for dinner would feel the need to make hamburger buns is  unexplainable. I made them anyway and have no regrets. They’re wonderful and I can’t wait to have them with burgers!

The recipe is from King Arthur Flour. I made the buns according to the recipe but used my bread maker on the dough cycle. One problem I had is that I used too much water. That’s not a problem with the recipe. I just over did it with the water and my dough was quite sticky and difficult to work with.  I wanted twelve buns but only managed to get eleven because I wasn’t willing to fuss with the dough any more than necessary due to the stickiness. They could have been prettier too if not for the sticky dough. Live and learn. Next time I’ll start with the lesser amount of water.

We love, love, love sesame seeds so I opted for the egg white wash and sprinkle of sesame seeds. They would also be great without them and just a brush of butter when they come out of the oven.

If you want to make these you’ll find the recipe here. Your friends and family will thank you!

Tags:

4 Responses to “Hamburger Buns”

  1. gloria Says:

    Your buns are beautiful!! ;) How long did the whole process take? Are they a lot better than store or bakery bought?

    • basicallybaked Says:

      My husband and I both feel they are better than what we can buy. As far as how much time they took. The recipe says it takes a total of 2 hours and 40 minutes. I believe that’s pretty accurate although I do admit that I wasn’t watching the clock closely.

  2. Katrina Says:

    I just made homemade hamburger buns last week, too. We definitely like them better than store bought.
    Yours look fabulous.

    • basicallybaked Says:

      Thanks Katrina! Let’s hope the 50% White Whole Wheat, 59% All Purpose turn out as well! They sure look and smell good… we’ll know tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

