Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chocolate Chip Cookies

The Almost No Knead Bread baking did in my flour and parchment paper supplies so I had to go the grocery store to replenish. Gold Medal Flour was on sale. Two five pound bags were on sale for $5.00. This is quite a bit less than the brand I usually buy so I decided to give it a try. As I was putting away the groceries I noticed a chocolate chip cookie recipe on the back of the bags. I didn’t think much of it and went on with my chores. Later when I used the new roll of parchment paper I noticed that there was a chocolate chip cookie recipe on the inside of the box and I started thinking that maybe it was a sign that I was supposed to make CC cookies. I continued on with my day and checked one of my favorite blogs Cookie Madness. On that particular day (January 5) Anna had blogged about a new cookbook and CC cookies. I knew at that point that I had to make some and I knew that my son would be pleased with the choice.

I decided to go with the recipe on the inside of the Reynold’s Parchment paper box. I’ve made many different cookie recipes over the year, and may have even made this one, but since I couldn’t remember for sure I decided to go with it. These cookies are good. With more care with the scooping they would be really pretty cookies. They are a nice thickness. Not too thick or thin. Both my husband and I thought they tasted a little less sugary than some other CC cookies but the ratio of sugar to flour isn’t that different so I’m not sure why we felt that way, and they weren’t less sugary in a bad way.

Adjectives used by my husband and son to describe these cookies. Outstanding, and great. I think they’re a good cookie.

The recipe can be found here.

On a different note. The new box of Reynold’s parchment makes a big note of saying that it’s oven safe to 420 degrees. I don’t know what happens at 425 which is what the Almost No Knead bread is baked at, but I think it’s time to find a different kind of parchment paper for that use.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Katrina Says:

    AWESOME looking loaves of bread. I tried the NYT No Knead bread last week using half whole wheat flour and half bread flour. It was pretty good. I can’t wait to try more. Does the CI recipe only use beer? Can’t get to it from your link without being a member. Just wondering.
    Love the ccc’s, too! I can’t get enough ccc’s!

  2. Sue Says:

    Thanks Katrina! Thanks for dropping by and for the comments. Sorry about the link for members only. I didn’t realize that when I posted it. The Almost No Knead Bread has inspired me to purchase Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day. I haven’t mixed any up yet. We’re kind of maxed out on Bread for awhile.

  3. clumbsycookie Says:

    I can not tell you how many ccc I’ve tried this year too! I just love them and it’s allways nice to find new recipes. Your loafs are also amazing! I think it’s my first time visiting here and I really liked it :)!

  4. basicallybaked Says:

    Clumbsycookie – thank you for stopping by! I’m glad you liked it. Sue

Leave a Reply

