Lemon Roll Out Sugar Cookies

Lemon Roll Out Sugar Cookies

Lemon Roll Out Sugar Cookies

After referring to the cookies in my previous post as my favorite sugar cookies I hesitated before writing about these. Don’t get me wrong, they are good cookies, but the taste and texture remind me more of spritz cookies than sugar cookies. They disappeared quickly and were enjoyed by all, so I guess they deserve to be talked about at least a little.

Lemon Roll Out Sugar Cookies

2 1/4 c. flour

1/4 t. salt

3/4 sugar

3/4 c.  butter

1 egg

1 T. finely grated lemon zest

1 t. vanilla

Whisk together the flour and salt. Set aside. Cream together the butter and the sugar until very light and fluffy. Blend in the egg, lemon zest, butter and vanilla.  Add the flour and salt mixture and mix well. Divide the dough into four pieces and roll out between pieces of waxed paper. Stack all four pieces on a cookie sheet and chill until firm. When firm remove from the refrigerator and cut out with decorative cookie cutters. Bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes.

Cool completely and decorate as desired.

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “Lemon Roll Out Sugar Cookies”

  1. Katrina Says:

    Great looking cookies! I believe a true sugar cookie should not have lemon, so I agree with you that the first recipe is more true to sugar cookies, but both are beautiful and I’m sure YUMMY!
    Happy New Year!

  2. Sue Says:

    Hi Katrina!
    I think I’m sugar cookied out now. I made the two I blogged about, then last night I made another recipe that I’ll write about later. I intended to make a recipe that has anise in it just because I’ve never had a sugar cookie with anise but it’s time for something chocolate or peanut butter or savory.
    Happy New Year to you and yours!

  3. Linds Says:

    I made these as easter cookies with no frosting. They were really lovely! That hint of lemon made them seem a little more like spring!

  4. basicallybaked Says:

    Hi!
    I’m glad you made these and that they were enjoyed. I visited your blog, and Easter baskets sound so cute!
    Sue

  5. Christmas Sugar Cookies | Craft Jr. Says:

    […] Sugar Lemon Christmas Tree Cookies […]

Leave a comment